Peninsula Diary Mayo Hayes O'Donnell

December 5, 1960

## **Historic Points on Peninsula**

In October the National Park Service, released plans for the publication of a National Registry of Historic Landmarks, to register and endorse historic landmarks of national significance and interest. The landmarks selected were listed under five themes, Spanish, French and English exploration and settlement of the English colonies, 1700-1755: and the advance of the frontier, 1763-1830.

Two of the four landmarks selected are on the Monterey Peninsula - The Royal Presidio Chapel, Monterey, and the Carmel Mission, Carmel. The San Diego Presidio and Santa Barbara Mission, are the other California sites to be represented and interpreted in the National Park System.

Referring to the Royal Presidio Chapel, also known as San Carlos church, the park system writes: "For three-quarters of a century Monterey was the stronghold of Spanish-Mexican civilization on the Pacific coast. It was the capital of California from 1776 until shortly before the American occupation. It is owned by the Catholic Church."

Carmel Mission, which is referred to as also being in Monterey, has this description: "The most important of the California Spanish missions from an ecclesiastical standpoint. It was the headquarters of the two great Franciscan Fathers, Padres Serra and Lasuen. Owned by the Catholic Church."

"San Diego Presidio commemorates the founding of the first mission in California. It marks the first permanent European settlement on the Pacific Coast of the United States. Owned by the City of San Diego."

"Santa Barbara Mission. Of the 21 California missions, Santa Barbara is outstanding for Its unusual and continued vigor. It is also perhaps the best preserved. Owned by the Catholic church."

A possible addition to the. list is to be the. Cabrillo National Monument.

In the Spanish study there are 26 sites listed as possessing exceptional value. Sixteen of these, not administered by the National Park Service, are eligible to receive certificates as registered National Historic Landmarks. They are as follows: San Luis de Apalache,

Florida; Fort San Carlo de Barrancas, Florida; La Fortaleza, Puerto Rico; Columbus' Landing Place; Virgin Islands; The Cablldo, New Orleans, La.; Fort San Lorenzo, Panama Canal Zone; Hawikuh, New Mexico; Palace of the Governors, Santa Fe, New Mexico; Acoma, Pecos, Taos, all in New Mexico, San Xavier del Bac which commemorates the missionary activities of the famous Padre Kino in Arizona.